If you are thinking of filing for divorce or legal separation in Colorado, the first step is to make sure you know where to file.
To begin the process in Colorado, at least one party must have lived in Colorado for at least 91 days before the case is filed. If there are minor children, they generally need to have been in Colorado for at least 182 days before the Court can have jurisdiction (there are some exceptions) to begin a case to determine parental responsibilities. If you meet the requirements above to file your case in Colorado, the next step is to figure out which county you should file your case in. If you both live in the same county, the answer is easy – you file in the county where you both live. But, if you live in different counties, the answer isn’t always clear. If you are filing the case, you can file in the county where you live only if the other party is served in that same county. Otherwise, you need to file in the county where the other party lives. If the other party doesn’t live in Colorado, the question of where to file can be a bit more complicated.
If you have questions about where to file your divorce or legal separation, get some answers by contacting Stephanie Shannon Law, LLC to schedule a free, 30-minute consultation.